President :

  • Sally Yerkovich, USA

Members :

Richard Aydon, UK

Denis-Michel Boëll, France

Eric Dorfman, New Zealand

Michael Franz, Germany

Peter Van Mensch, Netherlands

Terry Nyambe, Zambia

France Terrier, Switzerland

Mónica Risnicoff de Gorgas, Argentina

Daniele Jalla, Italy


Executive Council representatives (2013-2016):

InKyung Chang, Republic of Korea

Merete Ipsen, Denmark

Regine Schulz, Germany


Ex-officio Members

Suay Aksoy, Turkey, ICOM President, Ex-Officio Member


Permanent Secretary for the Committee:

Raphaël Roig, (ICOM)

ETHCOM - Ethics Committee

Topic : Ethics

The Ethics Committee advises ICOM in all matters relating to museum professional ethics. The members of the Committee, whose mandate is renewed triennially, are appointed by ICOM’s President. The Committee operates in parallel to the Legal Affairs Committee and the Finance and Resources Committee, and works under the authority of the Executive Council.


The objectives of the Ethics Committee are as follows:

  • Monitor the application of ICOM's Code of Ethics for Museums, inform the Executive Council of serious violations of the Code, and eventually request that certain recommendations be published in ICOM News;
  • Recommend to the Executive Council, the Advisory Committee and eventually the General Assembly, any changes or additions to ICOM's Code of Ethics for Museums that may be found necessary;
  • Review on behalf of ICOM other Codes of Ethics that may be developed by the subordinate bodies of ICOM concerning their specialised domains;
  • Maintain awareness and advise the Executive Council on evolving ethical issues affecting museums and their work within the cultural heritage sector today; submit a general report on the Committee’s work during the preceding triennium to each General Assembly coinciding with the General Conference of ICOM.