ICOM’s Committees

ICOM’s Committees represent the museums and museum professionals within the organisation.
They serve as a go-between for the General Secretariat, the National Committees, the International Committees, the Regional Alliances, Affiliated Organisations, Standing Committees and Working Groups. These bodies contribute to the resources, the energy and the diversity of the programmes set up by ICOM. Read more

Home/Who we are/The Governance/Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

ICOM Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is ICOM’s counselling and recommendation body. It shares its observations with the Executive Council.





The Advisory Committee is made up of the Presidents of the ICOM National and International Committees and Affiliated Organisations and its Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson are elected for three years among its members.

The Advisory Committee meets once a year and discussions and recommendations help to define the upcoming actions of ICOM by communicating its observations to the Executive Council.

In 2016, Regine Schulz (CIPEG, Germany) has been elected Chairperson of the Advisory Committee and Gustavo Adolfo Ortiz Serrano (Colombia) has been elected Vice-Chairperson for the period 2016-2019.