Code of Ethics

ICOM Code of Ethics for museums

Ethics and museum professionals’ exemplary practices are essential for ICOM.

ICOM Code of Ethics for museums
was adopted in 1986 and revised in 2004. It establishes the values and principles shared by ICOM and the international museum community. It is a reference tool translated to 38 languages and it sets minimum standards of professional practice and performance for museums and their staff.

By joining ICOM, each member commits to respect this code.

ICOM Statutes

Download the PDF

The Statutes of the International Council of Museums (hereinafter referred to as “ICOM”) is the basic document of the Organisation. The Internal Rules of ICOM and the ICOM Code of Ethics for Museums define and complete these Statutes.

The new version of this essential document was adopted by the Extraordinary General Assembly of ICOM in Milan (Italy), held on 9th July 2016.

Article 01 - Article 1 – Name, Legal Status, Location, Term and Fiscal Year

Section 1. Name
The name of the Organisation is the International Council of Museums (ICOM). Use of the name and acronym is subject to restrictions and may only be used by and for the uses and benefit of the Organisation and its Members.

Section 2. Legal Status
Established in 1946, ICOM is a non-profit organisation subject to French law (the 1901 Associations Act) and a non-governmental organisation that maintains formal relations with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) and has a consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council.

Section 3. Location
The registered office of ICOM is located at Maison de l’UNESCO, 1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris Cedex 15, France. Relocation of the registered office within the Paris Region is subject to the approval of the Executive Board. Relocation of the registered office to another part of France or another country is subject to the approval of the General Assembly.

Section 4. Term of the Mandate
The term of ICOM shall be indefinite.

Section 5. Fiscal Year
The fiscal year shall begins on 1st January and shall end on 31st December of each year.